How to Close a Range of Macola® Purchase Orders and Purge Them to the History File

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on google
Google+
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn

Your Progression, ES and Macola® 10 software can now be used to perform a mass closing of old or unneeded purchase orders. Yes, you no longer need to manually close them, one by one! This feature is especially useful if you have hundreds of purchase orders (maybe thousands?) that need to be closed. After closing them, you need to consider purging them to the history file.

Why is closing old and unneeded purchase orders important?

Maintaining accurate on-order quantities as well as their scheduled receipt dates is critical to all organizations. For example, you ordered a quantity of 1,000 but only 990 were delivered. Most likely, the remaining unreceived amount will never be delivered. BUT, your Macola® software will continue to show an on-order quantity of 10 if you do not change the order status.

How do the Macola® P/O status codes work?

When you print a purchase order, the status is set to ‘P’ (printed). After it is received and invoiced, you need to change the status to a ‘C’ (closed) or ‘H’ (history).

Why this white paper?

Many Macola® users believe that the ‘C’ (closed) status closes the order and removes any remaining quantities from appearing on the on-order reports and MRP reports (it does not). Additionally, changing the status to an ‘H’ (history) does remove the remaining quantities from appearing on the on-order reports, but it does not adjust the on-order quantity in the item/location file. Most importantly, you need to run the ‘Reset On-Order’ program when changing orders to an ‘H’ status.

When should I purge old purchase orders?

There is a point at which old purchase orders are no longer needed and contribute to slow processing. If they are years old, you should consider purging them to the P/O history file. First, close all of them using the ‘Close a range of orders’ program and then purge them using the ‘Purge Closed Purchase Orders’ program.

What is the difference between closing and history?

Using our example of an order with a remaining on-order quantity of 10, changing to a ‘C’ status and running the ‘Reset On-Order Quantities’ program will NOT eliminate the remaining on-order quantity. The ONLY way to get the ‘Reset On-order Quantities’ program to remove remaining on-order quantities is to change the status to ‘H.’

How does the ‘Close a Range of Purchase Orders’ program work?

The program gives you the option of changing the status to either ‘C’ (closed) or ‘H’ (history) for a range of orders. Changing the status to an ‘H’ does NOT transfer the order to the history file. ‘H’ orders will remain in the file of active purchase orders. The program then displays orders that meet your criteria. It then allows you to select all order or certain orders to be changed. By double-clicking an order, you can select it for closing (the column changes to ‘Y’). Once you have selected the orders you want to close, press Enter to close the orders.

After I close my order, how do I remove them from my file of active orders?

Changing the status to ‘C’ or ‘H’ does not transfer the order to the history file. You will need to run the ‘Purge Closed Purchase Orders’ program to transfer them to the history file.

For step by step instructions on how to do this, read our help document here – How do I close a range of Macola® purchase orders and purge them to the history file?

More To Explore

Subscribe For Periodic Updates In Your Inbox